Category Archives: Uncategorized

Harper’s Highland Fling by Lizzie Lamb Blog Tour – Review

Bookish Jottings

After a gruelling academic year, head teacher Harper MacDonald is looking forward to a summer holiday trekking in Nepal.

However, her plans are scuppered when wayward niece, Ariel, leaves a note announcing that she’s running away with a boy called Pen. The only clue to their whereabouts is a footnote: I’ll be in Scotland.

Cue a case of mistaken identity when Harper confronts the boy’s father – Rocco Penhaligon, and accuses him of cradle snatching her niece and ruining her future. At loggerheads, Harper and Rocco set off in hot pursuit of the teenagers, but the canny youngsters are always one step ahead. And, in a neat twist, it is the adults who end up in trouble, not the savvy teenagers.

REVIEW

A witty, uplifting and compelling romantic comedy set in Scotland, Lizzie Lamb’s Harper’s Highland Fling is sure to appeal to fans of Phillipa Ashley and Milly Johnson.

Head…

View original post 404 more words

Desert Island Books with… Lizzie Lamb

A Little Book Problem

desert-island-books

Today’s literary castaway, stranded on a deserted beach with only five books and one luxury item to keep her company, is author, Lizzie Lamb. Let’s see what she has chosen from all the books even written as the ones she would like to be stuck with indefinitely, shall we?

Book One – Friday’s Child by Georgette Heyer

41oWS3arLoL

Hero Wantage is desperate to change her fate.

When the dashing Lord Sherry proposes out of the blue, Hero is overjoyed – she’ll escape a life as a governess and, once they wed, he can finally claim his inheritance.

But as Hero attempts to social climb in glamorous London society, Sherry is concerned that her naivety will ruin them both and takes drastic action.

The chaos that follows will push friendships – and hearts – to breaking point.

Before Pride and Prejudice hit our screens, Georgette Heyer was my go-to author for Regency…

View original post 2,045 more words

AUTHOR PROMOTION: HARPER’S HIGHLAND FLING BY LIZZIE LAMB

Lizzie’s new novel – Harper’s Highland Fling

My latest novel Harper’s Highland Fling is now available on all Amazon sites. Read my blog to learn more.

Lizzie’s new novel – Harper’s Highland Fling

Boot Camp Bride – Book Birthday Blitz and Giveaway

Don’t miss your chance to read my new blog post and to download a copy of Boot Camp Bride for FREE. It’s the first time it’s been offered as a freebie so make the most of it. The offer ends on Wednesday. I’m currently reading through the PDF of my next novel and hope to publish in October . . .

Lizzie Lamb - author

Boot Camp Bride is about to celebrate its birthday and, before lockdown, I re-visited Norfolk and the sites which inspired the novel. I’d love to share them and take this opportunity to remind you of what a great romcom Boot Camp Bride is. Of all my novels I think that Boot Camp Bride is the one which would most easily translate onto the silver screen. To find out if you agree, I’m making Boot Camp Bride FREE to download over the weekend – so let your fingers do the walking and follow Charlie and Rafa’s adventures on the Norfolk Marshes.

my bookshelf – making room for #6

There’s also a chance to win a signed paperback copy (UK only) – details at the end of this blog. Join in the fun and you could be a winner.

2018-09-25 19.46.41

Blurb? I’ll allow one of my reviewsto do the talking for me…

View original post 915 more words

An Interview with Margaret Kaine and Review of A Life of Secrets

Margaret has long been a supporter of New Romantics Press and we are happy to reblog this interview on our blog.

Bookish Jottings

Thank you so much for joining me here at Bookish Jottings, Margaret. It’s lovely to have you here. Could you please start by introducing yourself and by telling us something about the books you write?

Hello, Julie. Thank you for inviting me.

I am married with two grown up children and two wonderful grandchildren. And having three years ago, moved from Leicester down to Eastbourne on the south coast, I am loving the sound of seagulls and living near the sea.

My debut novel, Ring of Clay won the Romantic Novelists’ Association New Writer’s Award in 2002 and the Society of Authors’ Sagittarius Prize in 2003. Since then I have written six more novels set in the Potteries and published by Hodder & Stoughton. I then felt challenged to write on a more cosmopolitan landscape and wrote an Edwardian romantic suspense, ‘Dangerous Decisions’, published by Choc Lit. I am now…

View original post 1,159 more words

Lizzie’s BEST EVER Summer Promo

News & Reviews

Always a pleasure to read Jan Brigden’s monthly blog posts. They’re warm-hearted and sincere, just like her two wonderful novels.

jan brigden, writer

With July jogging swiftly towards August ~ AUGUST ~ can’t quite believe I’m saying that, I wanted to check in and say Hi.

With restrictions easing since my last news update, it’s been wonderful to properly see Mum and Dad who’d been shielding and also the rest of my lovely family and friends in various homes, gardens and local parks. Can’t believe how much our great-nephews and niece have grown during this time, especially youngest Stanley who was only a month old when Lockdown started.

Henry, Thea & Stanley ~ always a joy to see their little faces ❤

Mr B is now back doing the day job but I’m glad to say Project Briggy is taking great shape. As well as Little & Large (sheds) as I’ve called them (everything has a name at Brigden Towers) he’s built some new decking on the sunnier side of the garden, with…

View original post 559 more words

14 Extra-Special Books Celebrating 6 Years of Rosie’s #Bookreview Team #RBRT: Part 1

Many thanks to Rosie Amber’s team for choosing one of NRP’s author to be featured in this line up. I loved Summer at the Seahorse Hotel and look searching out some of the other novels mentioned.

Rosie Amber

RBRT Gold:

My Review Team’s Favourite Books

#RBRT Review Team

How time flies – Rosie Amber’s Book Review Team has now been up and running for six years!  During that time we have done our best to spread the word about novels, novellas, short stories and non-fiction from self-published authors and independent publishers – to showcase talent found outside the mainstream publishing world.

Each month we are inundated with review requests from authors and publishers alike.  Every book that I accept is passed on to my team of twenty readers, which is made up of book bloggers, writers, editors, creative writing tutors and people who just love reading.  Most gain just one or two reviews, but once in a while a gem comes along that piques the interest of several team members, and receives highly favourable reviews across the board.

Welcome to Part One of #RBRT Gold: seven extra-special books that were…

View original post 1,093 more words

Inspirational Finds aka Searching for Mermaids by Adrienne Vaughan