Category Archives: Uncategorized

My Top Reads in 2021 ~ January to June

Great Choices. Nice to see fellow New Romantic Adrienne Vaughan featured there.

Lizanne lost in a good book

This year my reading included familiar favourite authors and exciting new discoveries. I was introduced to Elly Griffiths‘ Dr Ruth Galloway mysteries which combine murder investigation with archaeology as well as humour and bitter sweet relationships. Here is my review for The Crossing Places

I was pleased to find the wartime books written by Lissa Evans. In The Crooked Heart and V for Victory we meet Vee and young Noel, two misfits in a dangerous world set in a tale of pathos and humour.

I was happy to return to some of the authors I could rely on for a good read. I managed to catch up with A Single Threadby Tracy Chevalier and The Strawberry Thief by Joanne Harris.

I enjoyed reading a second dual time book, set in Europe by Rose Alexander, Out of the MountainsShadow and another tense contemporary drama, Daria’s…

View original post 45 more words

WINTER SOLSTICE CELEBRATIONS #WINTERSOLSTICE #WINTER

Great post Alison. I love these markers throughout the year: Solstice, Beltane, Equinox and so on. The connection with the past is to be cherished and remembered. Lizzie xx

Alison Williams Writing

There’s something about a cold day in December, the sky growing dark, the fire lit, candles glowing, a glass of red wine and a good book. Christmas is approaching and it’s already the shortest day. I’ve always been fascinated at the old traditions and history of the seasons and festivals, particularly those destroyed by conventional religion. And the Winter Solstice has something really magical about it.

The Winter Solstice is the shortest day of the year – the day that has the shortest periods of daylight. It’s always been a cause for celebration because it means that we’ve reached a turning point – that the days will slowly get longer and we’re on our way to spring (even if it doesn’t feel like it). Our ancestors always knew how to throw a celebration and the winter solstice was a great excuse. There are some fascinating traditions associated with the point…

View original post 426 more words

Meet Lizzie Lamb, finalist of the RNA Indie Champion 2021

valerie holmes, author

Welcome, Lizzie!

img_2754

Having just listened to your interview on radio Leicester I wondered what it was that swayed you away from fantasy and faerie folk of your younger years to the romance genre?

Growing up in Scotland with the Ravenscraig Steel Works literally at the bottom of my garden I, along with my friends, created an alternative reality. In the nearby woods we went in search of faeries under toadstools, nyads at the bottom of wells and dryads in the trees. Having no luck in finding them I started reading historical novels, starting with the Prisoner of Zenda, Robert Louis Stevenson, Walter Scott, Rosemary Sutcliffe, Margaret Irwin et al. Via their work I discovered the romance of history, castles, knights and feisty princesses prepared to give any dragon a run for its money. Having found my milieu, I never looked back until . . . I read my first Jilly…

View original post 1,135 more words

The results are in . . .

Read what Lizzie got up to at the RNA Awards in October.

Lizzie Lamb - author

my glittery runner-up certificate

Although I wasn’t lucky enough to win my category at the Romantic Novelists’ Association Awards Ceremony I was proud to be nominated. And, in true Lizzie fashion, I made quite an event of it: travelling first class from Leicester to St Pancras with husband Dave, lunch in the Betjeman Arms, overnight stay at the Leonardo Hotel in view of the Tower of London. There was even time for a bit of a shopping expedition on the way home.

Looking back over the event I’ve come to see it as a marker of how far I’ve come over the last nine years. I am very proud of what I’ve achieved:

  • six published novels on Amazon with number seven under way
  • the establishment of the Leicester Chapter of the RNA (over 60 members)
  • the network of friends, readers and other author made via social media
  • the help and…

View original post 606 more words

My best week ever . . .

Good morning. Read about my radio interview, my being shortlisted for an Industry Award – Indie Champion 2021 – by the RNA and a mention of my SWIP. Have a great weekend.

Lizzie Lamb - author

For those of you who read my previous blog post about being shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists” Association Indie Champion of the Year I have some follow-on news to share.

I learned via Melanie Griffiths (PA to the RNA Committee) that BBC Radio Leicester would like to interview me about my path to publication and my thoughts on being shortlisted for the award.

Many moons ago, when Adrienne Vaughan, June Kearns and Mags Cullingford and I formed New Romantics Press, Radio Leicester – thanks to Adrienne’s PR contacts – sent two reporters to find out what indie publishing was all about. We met in The Bell, Burton Overy and had a fabulous morning talking about books and hopes for the future. A four legged friend even came along to boost our confidence – not that we stopped talking all morning.

View original post 504 more words

BREAKING NEWS – RNA INDIE HERO AWARD

So thrilled to share this news with my followers and friends —–

Lizzie Lamb - author

I’m super thrilled to announce that I’ve been short listed for the inaugural ‘INDIES HERO AWARD 2021′ by the Romantic Novelists’ Association.

I’ve been blogging for quite some time but some of my newer followers might not know the story behind my writing journey. So I thought it might be a good idea to bring you all up to date. If you’d like to learn more about the award, here’s a link to the article in The Bookseller.

Being shortlisted for such a prestigious award has given me a chance to reflect on what – to date – has been a wonderful career as an author. I am grateful for the fabulous friendships I have made throughout this journey, hopefully helping and inspiring others to achieve their publishing dream too.

I’ve always wanted to be a writer of romantic fiction. Being an indie author works for me as it…

View original post 585 more words

A Change of Heart by Adrienne Vaughan Escape to Ireland… and fall in love all over again! #BookReview

Always great to be reminded of a favourite novel. Thanks, Lizanne.

Lizanne lost in a good book

Escaping to a remote Irish isle, journalist Marianne Coltrane had not bargained for a tumultuous affair with movie star Ryan O’Gorman. When Ryan leaves to pursue his career, Marianne remains to care for those who need her most, but Ryan soon realises he cannot live without her and returns to woo her back .Tricky enough without his problematic ex-wife or the contract he cannot break, but when a good deed puts all they treasure in jeopardy, it’s time to take stock and fight for what matters most … or is time running out for this charismatic couple and everything they hold most dear? Following the acclaimed debut The Hollow Heart, A Change of Heart is another exciting read. Laced with glamour and intrigue, this beguiling tale is filled with characters you’ll love and laugh with all over again. Book II in the Heartfelt series.

My Review

There is something about…

View original post 201 more words

Harper’s Highland Fling by Lizzie Lamb Blog Tour – Review

Bookish Jottings

After a gruelling academic year, head teacher Harper MacDonald is looking forward to a summer holiday trekking in Nepal.

However, her plans are scuppered when wayward niece, Ariel, leaves a note announcing that she’s running away with a boy called Pen. The only clue to their whereabouts is a footnote: I’ll be in Scotland.

Cue a case of mistaken identity when Harper confronts the boy’s father – Rocco Penhaligon, and accuses him of cradle snatching her niece and ruining her future. At loggerheads, Harper and Rocco set off in hot pursuit of the teenagers, but the canny youngsters are always one step ahead. And, in a neat twist, it is the adults who end up in trouble, not the savvy teenagers.

REVIEW

A witty, uplifting and compelling romantic comedy set in Scotland, Lizzie Lamb’s Harper’s Highland Fling is sure to appeal to fans of Phillipa Ashley and Milly Johnson.

Head…

View original post 404 more words

Desert Island Books with… Lizzie Lamb

A Little Book Problem

desert-island-books

Today’s literary castaway, stranded on a deserted beach with only five books and one luxury item to keep her company, is author, Lizzie Lamb. Let’s see what she has chosen from all the books even written as the ones she would like to be stuck with indefinitely, shall we?

Book One – Friday’s Child by Georgette Heyer

41oWS3arLoL

Hero Wantage is desperate to change her fate.

When the dashing Lord Sherry proposes out of the blue, Hero is overjoyed – she’ll escape a life as a governess and, once they wed, he can finally claim his inheritance.

But as Hero attempts to social climb in glamorous London society, Sherry is concerned that her naivety will ruin them both and takes drastic action.

The chaos that follows will push friendships – and hearts – to breaking point.

Before Pride and Prejudice hit our screens, Georgette Heyer was my go-to author for Regency…

View original post 2,045 more words

AUTHOR PROMOTION: HARPER’S HIGHLAND FLING BY LIZZIE LAMB