Author Archives: junekearns

Guest blogger: Lizzie Lamb

Australian Romance Readers Association

I was born in Scotland and lived there until I was eleven years old. I’ve never lost that connection with Scotland and when we cross the border and I see the ‘Welcome to Scotland’ sign I feel tingly all over and I know I’m home. Although I no longer ‘sound’ Scottish, I soon find my accent when I’m in the midst of my family and start using the ‘Old Scots’ words: scunner, peely-wally, dreich and swally. It was a no brainer to set my novels north of the border and to remind myself what my Scottish heritage means to me.

Growing up in the Central Belt with the Ravenscraig Steel Works literally at the bottom of my garden (so not romantic!) I created an alternative reality. In the nearby woods I went in search of faeries under toadstools, nyads at the bottom of wells and dryads hiding…

View original post 518 more words

Meet Lizzie Lamb, finalist of the RNA Indie Champion 2021

valerie holmes, author

Welcome, Lizzie!

img_2754

Having just listened to your interview on radio Leicester I wondered what it was that swayed you away from fantasy and faerie folk of your younger years to the romance genre?

Growing up in Scotland with the Ravenscraig Steel Works literally at the bottom of my garden I, along with my friends, created an alternative reality. In the nearby woods we went in search of faeries under toadstools, nyads at the bottom of wells and dryads in the trees. Having no luck in finding them I started reading historical novels, starting with the Prisoner of Zenda, Robert Louis Stevenson, Walter Scott, Rosemary Sutcliffe, Margaret Irwin et al. Via their work I discovered the romance of history, castles, knights and feisty princesses prepared to give any dragon a run for its money. Having found my milieu, I never looked back until . . . I read my first Jilly…

View original post 1,135 more words

Harper’s Highland Fling by Lizzie Lamb Blog Tour – Review

Bookish Jottings

After a gruelling academic year, head teacher Harper MacDonald is looking forward to a summer holiday trekking in Nepal.

However, her plans are scuppered when wayward niece, Ariel, leaves a note announcing that she’s running away with a boy called Pen. The only clue to their whereabouts is a footnote: I’ll be in Scotland.

Cue a case of mistaken identity when Harper confronts the boy’s father – Rocco Penhaligon, and accuses him of cradle snatching her niece and ruining her future. At loggerheads, Harper and Rocco set off in hot pursuit of the teenagers, but the canny youngsters are always one step ahead. And, in a neat twist, it is the adults who end up in trouble, not the savvy teenagers.

REVIEW

A witty, uplifting and compelling romantic comedy set in Scotland, Lizzie Lamb’s Harper’s Highland Fling is sure to appeal to fans of Phillipa Ashley and Milly Johnson.

Head…

View original post 404 more words

Desert Island Books with… Lizzie Lamb

A Little Book Problem

desert-island-books

Today’s literary castaway, stranded on a deserted beach with only five books and one luxury item to keep her company, is author, Lizzie Lamb. Let’s see what she has chosen from all the books even written as the ones she would like to be stuck with indefinitely, shall we?

Book One – Friday’s Child by Georgette Heyer

41oWS3arLoL

Hero Wantage is desperate to change her fate.

When the dashing Lord Sherry proposes out of the blue, Hero is overjoyed – she’ll escape a life as a governess and, once they wed, he can finally claim his inheritance.

But as Hero attempts to social climb in glamorous London society, Sherry is concerned that her naivety will ruin them both and takes drastic action.

The chaos that follows will push friendships – and hearts – to breaking point.

Before Pride and Prejudice hit our screens, Georgette Heyer was my go-to author for Regency…

View original post 2,045 more words

AUTHOR PROMOTION: HARPER’S HIGHLAND FLING BY LIZZIE LAMB

#GuestPost IF I EVER DOUBT YOU by JAN BRIGDEN #PublicationDay @ChocLituk @JanBrigden

Books and Me!

Happy Tuesday to you all! And Happy Publication Day to Jan Brigden for the release of IF I EVER DOUBT YOU!! Hopefully you’ll all be downloading this later to enjoy!

Jan has been kind enough to write a guest post for me to share with you all today to give you a bit more of an insight into the book and the characters within the story!! Over to you Jan….

Challenging the celebrity footballer stereotype: If I Ever Doubt You by Jan Brigden

My main characters Rebecca and Alex first encountered one another in my debut As Weekends Go. Family-oriented small-town woman meets big league professional footballer. We saw the huge impact on their lives during and after that eventful summer weekend.

If I Ever Doubt You continues their story, charting each cheer, dip, drama and dilemma their relationship throws up: how Rebecca adapts to and copes with the reality…

View original post 533 more words

Take Me, I’m Yours Blog Tour – here’s how it went.

Lizzie Lamb - author

September 15th – The first bloggers to comment on my tour are: Being Anne and A Girl and Her Books and Against the Flow Press,

Takeme_7Anne Williams saidI had the pleasure and honour of being an early reader, and sharing my review on publication day – you’ll find that review again here, and I suspect you might just pick up how very much I enjoyed it.

Deborah wroteI was hooked from the moment India picked up the monkey wrench, determined to defend herself, if necessary, from the bullying Logan – and I did not want to put it down. I thought all of the characters were totally believable, and the plot twists and turns kept me reading, long into the night. 

September 16th Jerra’s Jamboree posted an extract from Take Me, I’m Yours.

Against her better judgement, India has turned up at the picnic…

View original post 824 more words

#BlogTour #AuthorInterview for Take Me, I’m Yours by Lizzie Lamb @rararesources @lizzie_lamb

donnasbookblog

India Buchanan plans to set up an English-Style bed and breakfast establishment in her great-aunt’s home, MacFarlane’s Landing, Wisconsin. But she’s reckoned without opposition from Logan MacFarlane whose family once owned her aunt’s house and now want it back. MacFarlane is in no mood to be denied. His grandfather’s living on borrowed time and Logan has vowed to ensure the old man sees out his days in their former home. India’s great-aunt has other ideas and has threatened to burn the house to the ground before she lets a MacFarlane set foot in it. There’s a story here. One the family elders aren’t prepared to share. When India finds herself in Logan’s debt, her feelings towards him change. However, the past casts a long shadow and events conspire to deny them the love and happiness they both deserve. Can India and Logan’s love overcome all odds? Or is history about…

View original post 762 more words

Take Me I’m Yours by Lizzie Lamb @lizzie_lamb @rararesources #BookReview

Berit Talks Books

Happy Tuesday book people!

Excited to be part of the blog tour and share with you my review for this delightful romance! Thank you so much Rachel for my invitation and Lizzie Lamb for her beautiful words!💕💕

Take Me I'm YoursIndia Buchanan plans to set up an English-Style bed and breakfast establishment in her great-aunt’s home, MacFarlane’s Landing, Wisconsin. But she’s reckoned without opposition from Logan MacFarlane whose family once owned her aunt’s house and now want it back. MacFarlane is in no mood to be denied. His grandfather’s living on borrowed time and Logan has vowed to ensure the old man sees out his days in their former home. India’s great-aunt has other ideas and has threatened to burn the house to the ground before she lets a MacFarlane set foot in it. There’s a story here. One the family elders aren’t prepared to share. When India finds herself in Logan’s debt…

View original post 613 more words

#BlogTour! #Promo – Take Me, I’m Yours by Lizzie Lamb (@lizzie_lamb) @rararesources

The Writing Garnet

I apologise for the…49 minutes lateness, however I am excited to be promoting Lizzie Lamb’s new novel as part of my stop on the blog tour!

India Buchanan plans to set up an English-Style bed and breakfast establishment in her great-aunt’s home, MacFarlane’s Landing, Wisconsin. But she’s reckoned without opposition from Logan MacFarlane whose family once owned her aunt’s house and now want it back. MacFarlane is in no mood to be denied. His grandfather’s living on borrowed time and Logan has vowed to ensure the old man sees out his days in their former home. India’s great-aunt has other ideas and has threatened to burn the house to the ground before she lets a MacFarlane set foot in it. There’s a story here. One the family elders aren’t prepared to share. When India finds herself in Logan’s debt, her feelings towards him change. However, the past casts a long…

View original post 288 more words